Five Pillars of Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam are fundamental principles and practices that serve as the foundation of Muslim life. They are considered essential obligations for all Muslims and encompass various aspects of faith, worship, and social responsibility.

Shahada (declaration of faith): The Shahada is the foundational statement of belief in Islam. It is the testimony that there is no deity worthy of worship except Allah (God), and Muhammad is His Messenger. By reciting and affirming the Shahada with sincerity, a person enters the fold of Islam and acknowledges the monotheistic belief central to the religion.

Salat (prayer): Salat refers to the five daily prayers that Muslims are obligated to perform. These prayers are observed at specific times throughout the day: pre-dawn (Fajr), noon (Dhuhr), afternoon (Asr), evening (Maghrib), and night (Isha). Muslims face the Kaaba in Mecca while engaging in physical and spiritual acts of worship, including recitation of verses from the Qur'an, bowing, prostration, and supplication.

Zakat (Almsgiving): Zakat is the practice of giving a portion of one's wealth to those in need, particularly to assist the poor and needy within society. It is considered a means of purifying one's wealth and a way to fulfill the obligation of social and economic justice. Muslims are required to give a specific percentage (usually 2.5%) of their accumulated wealth, savings, or income each year.

Sawm (fasting): Sawm refers to the obligatory fasting during the Islamic month of Ramadan. From dawn until sunset, Muslims abstain from eating, drinking, and other physical needs. Fasting serves as a means of self-discipline, self-reflection, and spiritual purification. It is also a time of increased devotion, recitation of the Qur'an, and engagement in acts of charity and kindness.

Hajj (pilgrimage): Hajj is the pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca in Saudi Arabia, which is an obligation for Muslims who are physically and financially capable. It is performed during the Islamic month of Dhu al-Hijjah. The pilgrimage involves a series of rituals, including circumambulating the Kaaba, running between the hills of Safa and Marwa, and standing in vigil at the plain of Arafat. Hajj is a communal gathering that symbolises unity, equality, and the remembrance of Prophet Abraham's devotion to God.

The Five Pillars of Islam represent the core principles and practices that guide a Muslim's faith and shape their relationship with Allah and the community. They provide a framework for spiritual growth, moral conduct, and social responsibility within the Islamic faith.
Back to blog

UOL Case Bank

Upon joining, you become a valuable UOL student and gain instant access to over 2,100 case summaries. UOL Case Bank is constantly expanding. Speed up your revision with us now.

Subscribe Now

Where are our students from?

Yale University
Council of Europe
Baker Mckenzie 
University of Chicago
Columbia University
New York University
University of Michigan 
University College London (UCL)
London School of Economics (LSE)
King’s College London (KCL)
University of London
University of Manchester
University of Zurich
University of York
Brandeis University
University of Exeter
University of Sheffield
Boston University
University of Washington
University of Leeds
University of Law
Royal Holloway, University of London 
Birkbeck, University of London
SOAS, University of London
University of Kent
University of Hull
Queen’s University Belfast
Toronto Metropolitan University
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
University of Buckingham
ESSEC Business School

  • Criminal Practice

    Diagrams and Charts

    Our carefully designed diagrams and charts will guide you through complex legal issues.

  • Criminal Law

    Clear and Succinct Definitions

    Key concepts are concisely defined to help you understand legal topics quickly.

  • Property Law

    Statutory Provisions

    Statutory provisions are provided side by side with legal concepts to help you swiftly locate the relevant legislation.

  • Public Law

    Case Summaries

    We have summarised important cases for you so that you don't need to read long and boring cases.

  • Evidence

    Rules and Exceptions

    Rules and exceptions are clearly listed so that you know when a rule applies and when it doesn't.

  • Company Law


    Legal terms and key concepts are explained at the beginning of each chapter to help you learn efficiently.

  • Case Law

    Case law is provided side by side with legal concepts so that you know how legal principles and precedents were established.

  • Law Exam Guide

    Law Essay Guide

    You will learn essential law exam skills and essay writing techniques that are not taught in class.

  • Law Exam Guide

    Problem Question Guide

    We will show you how to answer problem questions step by step to achieve first-class results.

  • Conflict of Laws

    Structured Explanations

    Complex legal concepts are broken down into concise and digestible bullet point explanations.

  • Legal System and Method

    Legal Research

    You will learn legal research techniques with our study guide and become a proficient legal researcher.

  • Jurisprudence and Legal Theory


    All essential concepts, principles, and case law are included so that you can answer exam questions quickly.